develop critical software for linux target

hi everyone.

i'm new to linux. i'm going to develop a critical software that gets data through lan and show it graphically. after searching i decided to use linux kernel + rtai to be my Real-Time linux.my language is only c++.

now to develop software i have 2 options:

1- as a windows and vs2010 programmer, i leave windows and move to a linux distribution and develop software using a good ide that i don't know well...

2- i stay in windows and use to cross-compile for linux target using some cross-compile tools...

the first option is better for me because i have many other windows-based tools that i don't want to loose them but if i have to, i'll handle it.

now my question is which one i choose? what about the performance and reliability? which one has more performance and reliability as it required for critical software? is it important to be linux- host developped or windows cross-compile?

and the way you gus propose me please tell me how and with which development tools and ide i could do that.

thank u.
It's all good to describe your software as critical software, but what are your actual requirements?

Linux vs Windows vs ... How did you manage to choose Linux in the first place?
the target os is a RT Linux not only linux. linux + rtai

now development os could be windows with cross compiling or linux as native compiling.

software should be real-time so reliability is important. people on net suggest qt or gtk or ... but others say to use mingw or cmake or ...

now i want to choose best development envirement... being in windows has less affort but moving to linux has much more new staff.

now what is best choice for my requirement?
Using qt and gtk has nothing to do with cmake or mingw.