Good Linux IDE?

Pages: 12
Hello, all. As you might (not) have guessed, I'm new to all these forums. I'm a Linux n00b looking for a good development IDE for it. I've done a lot of my Windows programming using Microsoft Visual C++, and I really just don't think I can get the hang of doing all the makefile and dependencies stuff manually. I know there's a "make" utility, but I've absolutely no clue on how to use it. I want to know this because I want to get my first Irrlicht project (not really that much, just a model and a particle fountain, with a few GUI elements) to compile and run under a Linux virtual machine I'm wanting to use as a sort of tester for it. I don't care about runtime speed, I'm just looking for an easy, as-pain-free-as-possible way to get it to run under Linux at all.
Last edited on
One of best them is Eclips
+1 Eclipse. It's also a good IDE for Windows/OS X

www.eclipse.org
Last edited on
There's also KDevelop which I believe comes with most (possibly all) linux flavours
Code::Blocks = one of the best.
Eclipse, Code::Blocks (www.codeblocks.org), KDevelop, these are the ones I think you might want to take a look at., all of them have nice features, Eclipse and KDevelop are very good for not only C++ but many different languages (the former is easy to expand with plugins) while Code::Blocks is designed for C++ but in my opinion it's code editor is superior to Eclipse's and KDevelop's own.
+1 NetBeans too