Vector.push_back pass by reference or value?

Pages: 12
Hi guys,

I am pretty new to c++, I am coming from java.

I am having doubts about the function vector.push_back( T& x), in the documentation i am guessing that it is pass by reference because of the argument (T& x) but it doesnt seemed to work for me that way. For instance:

#include "ExObj.h"
#include <vector>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main() {
vector<Maquina> collect;
Maquina maq1;
Maquina maq2;
//collect.push_back(maq1); <--- Doesnt work, member's value dont change
//collect.push_back(maq2); <----Doesnt work, member value dont change
maq1.createMaquina(1, "Maquina1", "Madrid", 28850);

maq2.createMaquina(1, "Maquina2", "Torrejon", 28850);

maq1.addMarca("Marl");
maq1.addMarca("wins");
maq2.addMarca("fortun");
maq2.addMarca("chester");
collect.push_back(maq1); //<-----this works, when adding to vector after changing value
collect.push_back(maq2); //<-----this works
cout << "Maquina List" << endl;
cout << "size = " << collect.size();
for (int ctr = 0; ctr < collect.size(); ctr++) {

cout << collect[ctr].name << "\t" << collect[ctr].address << endl;
cout << "Number of Marcas: " << collect[ctr].marca.size() << endl;
for (int ctr1 = 0; ctr1 < collect[ctr].marca.size(); ctr1++) {
cout << collect[ctr].marca[ctr1] << endl;
}
}

}

If i would add the Object to the vector before I change some of it's members value, the objects inside the vector, which is supposed to have the same reference, doesnt show the changes when the members are called.
Yes it is correct that the object is passed by reference to the push_back function. Inside the function a copy is made that is stored in the vector.
And that's why adding strings to a vector in C++ is slower than in Java and you can't do much about it. Even if you force it to add pointers to strings, you have to allocate strings on the heap then with new, and it is still much slower than Java, and if you use shared_ptr it is even slower. :P
Last edited on