Capturing mouse clicks and keyboard activity

Hello, I am a student trying to incorporate mouse clicks into a program. The main portion of my program is below.

main()
{
vector<int> world;
ACTION action = NONE;
char filename[MAX_FILENAME_LEN];
int position;
int choice;
HANDLE hin, hout;
INPUT_RECORD inrec;
DWORD counter;
COORD new_position;

hout = GetStdHandle(STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE);
hin = GetStdHandle(STD_INPUT_HANDLE);
initializeConsole(hout);
initializeApp(filename, position);//get initial values
loadFile(world, filename);//load world from initial file
printScreen(world, filename);//print world from initial file
goToCoordinate(position);//go to initial position
do
{
ReadConsoleInput(hin, &inrec, 1, &counter);
if (inrec.EventType == KEY_EVENT && inrec.Event.KeyEvent.bKeyDown)
{
choice = inrec.Event.KeyEvent.wVirtualScanCode;
getAction(action, choice);//gets valid user input
performAction(world, filename, action, position);
}
else if (inrec.EventType == MOUSE_EVENT &&
inrec.Event.MouseEvent.dwEventFlags == 0 &&
inrec.Event.MouseEvent.dwButtonState & 0x01)
{
new_position = inrec.Event.MouseEvent.dwMousePosition;
SetConsoleCursorPosition(hout, new_position);
}
} while (action != EXIT);
getch();
}

My program loads successfully, and I make it into my do-while loop. However, once there, I am not able to detect mouse clicks. However, I can still enter keyboard actions. I'm a bit lost, as I've gone through my code and can't find anyplace that the activity would freeze or pend user action, other than my ReadConsoleInput call.

Any ideas what might be happening?
I couldn't answer the question, but it has come up before.
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/16748/
try this...

#include <windows.h>
#include <stdio.h>

int main(void)
{
 HANDLE hStdInput,hStdOutput,hEvent;                         //WAIT_ABANDONED   = 128
 INPUT_RECORD ir[128];                                       //WAIT_OBJECT_0    = 0