Starting OpenGL

Hello all,

I've some good knowledge on C++ console coding and am reading Chapter 5 of the book C++-GUI-Programming-with-Qt-4-2nd Edition. For a reason I'd like to be familiar with OpenGL.
Using the address below:
http://www.opengl-tutorial.org/beginners-tutorials/tutorial-1-opening-a-window/

I went for learning it. I downloaded a portable type of cmake-3.9.3-win64-x64 and ran the executable file of it and using the tutorial built the solution using VS 2017 win x64 successfully.
In the tutorial, it says: "A black window should appear".
But when I run playground.exe, two windows appear: one console black window and one dark blue larger window with the title of Playground. And the same outcome when running the project using VS.
I have some questions:

1- Is what I've done until now OK?
2- Is it right if I start learning OpenGL with the knowledge I have for now?
3- Is that tutorial a good resource for starting learning OpenGL from the basic for the first time, or should I choose a book instead?

Tanks you so much.
Last edited on
I guess you created a console application so the black window is the normal console and the blue window is the OpenGL window.
Is there a reason why you don't use OpenGL together with Qt ?
http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/examples-widgets-opengl.html
Is there a reason why you don't use OpenGL together with Qt ?
It's my real goal. But I need to be more familiar with the road I walk through please.

1- What's the difference between using OpenGL with Qt and OpenGL independently (without Qt)?
2- What knowledge do I need to start OpenGL with Qt? I've studied only four chapters of the book above, but I like OpenGL. Does this little knowledge of Qt suffice to jump to OpenGL?
3- Except for Qt Docs, is there any other tut/book explaining OpenGL with Qt?
Last edited on