char to LPCWSTR CONVERSION

Pages: 12
hi,
i am a beginner at windows programming . i read the following sample code in one of the turtorials from net. I am using visual studio 2010,

#include <windows.h>

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "Goodbye, cruel world!", "Note", MB_OK);
return 0;
}

BUT when i type the same thing i get the erroe message:
MessageBoxW:cannot convert parameter2 form const char [9] to LPCWSTR.
This was supposed to be very easy and beginner stuff. But still i am having problem . Please tell me what to do (a little bit in detail , since i am completely new to window programming and this was my first window program ).

thanks , in advance.
thanks , freddie ,
you have been of great help .
i actually got that right , just by changing to Multi-byte.

thank you freddie . your detailed reply was very insightful.
Last edited on
Visual Studio took the route some time back of setting the default character set to wide character. So, you can either do one of two things; 1) Go into project properties and set the character set to 'unset' or Multi-byte; or, 2) Use a wide character WinMain() declaration and all the _T() macros or wide char variables. Welcome to Window Programming!

I'd recommend you change the project properties to asci/multibyte, or what ever it is. That would get you going quicker and with less fuss. Then your tutorial stuff will work as is and you won't have to hack it up.

Also, you could use CodeBlocks. So far they haven't defaulted to unixcode.
1) Go into project properties and set the character set to 'unset' or Multi-byte;

Don't do this.

MessageBox takes TCHARs. If you're not giving it TCHARs, don't use MessageBox.

Good solutions are:

// 1)  use TCHARs and MessageBox:
MessageBox(NULL, TEXT("Goodbye, cruel world!"), TEXT("Note"), MB_OK);

// 2)  use chars and MessageBoxA:
MessageBoxA(NULL, "Goodbye, cruel world!", "Note", MB_OK);