I'm new, how do I code? :3

Hello Everyone,

I'm just going to tell you that I am 14 years old and have never coded in my life. I want to learn but I don't know what's best way. I've heard C++ is a good place to start. I have downloaded an IDE called Codeblocks...was that a good one to download? Once it has downloaded where should I start? Is there a big guide of some sort? I am a COMPLETE BEGINNER, I have absolutely no idea. So is there an online guide for dummies wanting to learn C++ or do I just ask every single little question that I have, here on the forum? Please don't abuse me or be mean just because I'm a beginner. I'm just trying to learn what most of you already know :)
Last edited on
This site has a pretty decent tutorial (IMO) for learning the features of C++.
http://cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/

Also, you may want to move this to the Beginners section.
OK thank-you, I'll check that link out.

So sorry, didn't even see the beginners section >.<

Can I move it there or can only admins?
OK. Code::Blocks has downloaded. Where should I start? Should I first read through everything given in that link? or is there some tutorial built into Code::Blocks?
Good to see new people learning C++
Code::Blocks site has user manual in PDF format for download as well as HTML for online viewing. http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
But that is for using Code::Blocks.

I suggest you read the tutorial as Zhuge suggested and get the basic concepts cleared first, then open Code::Blocks and type in a simple program there.

Also, you will need a compiler for compiling the source code you write.
Which compiler to use largely depends on the Operating System you use.
In addition to this site, you can also use http://www.xoax.net/ since they have video tutorials. Start with the basic console c++, and once you're comfortable with that, move on to the more advanced libraries/toolkits.