Visual C++ 2010 - Unmanged C calling managed c++ dll

Hi, I'm a C / C++ noob, but have been a software engineer for 28 years. I just started a new job, and have inherited some unmanaged C code to maintain.

I need to modify this C code to call a C++ managed / CLR DLL that will take care of decrypting data.

I've searched the web, but nothing seems to fit the specific case I have.

I'd post code, but there's nothing to it. In pseudocode it's :

VS 2010 C program :

read file
while not(eof)
call managed DLL decrypt routine to decrypt certain values
read next record
end While

VS 2010 Managed C++ DLL

Get parm
Decrypt parm
Return value

I've tried various things like regasm and so on but got nowhere.

Any pointers would be really appreciated.

Have to have this sorted by Friday.

Thanks,
Jennifer
See the following web page for some assistance on calling a managed DLL from unmanaged code. How come you didn't find anything on the web?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/828736
Did that help or not???
Sorry, was off line last few days due to illness - I'll check that link out and get back to you.

Actually I found that link before and followed it's instructions, but it didn't work.

The link is about unmanaged c++ calling managed c++

what I need is unmanaged C calling managed c++
You should still be able to use COM from your C program.

I created a managed DLL as described in the article and then an unmanaged prgram thus:

// Import the type library.
#import "..\..\\aManagedDLL\\bin\\Debug\\ManagedDLL.tlb" //raw_interfaces_only

using namespace ManagedDLL;

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
	// Initialize COM.
	HRESULT hr = CoInitialize(NULL);

// Create the interface pointer.
	ICalculatorPtr pICalc(__uuidof(ManagedClass));

//long lResult = 0;

// Call the Add method.
	long lResult = pICalc->Add(5, 10);

printf("The result is %d", lResult);

// Uninitialize COM.
	CoUninitialize();
	return 0;
}

All works.

If you want you could send me a PM on this.