How to release a C++ program?

Hello,

I have recently made a small program in C++ which prompts the user for yes or no and then if its a yes, the program will shutdown the computer. I made it because I hate the way you have to turn off windows 8.
I made this program in MS visual ultimate 2012 and I tried to search on the internet about how to release a C++ program but I could find anything.

I am a beginner so I'm still learning C++. Basically I want to make a program that will install my program on a computer running windows, so its doesn't have to be complicated. I've just found where I saved my project and copied the 'Debug' folder and pasted it in program files on the C drive and got the application file that starts the program and out it on the desktop? Is that right? - I know this isn't really installing it but it does work.
Remember I am using MS visual ultimate 2012.

Another problem is I am using the code: system("shutdown -s -t 1"); and I have read that this system() is evil and really bad to use as it causes big security holes; is there any other way that I can tell the computer to shutdown or is that code ok?

If you want me to post my C++ source code of the program if you need it, just ask.

Thanks!
Last edited on
I would use the function ExitWindowsEx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa376868(VS.85).aspx

Maybe look something like this

#include <windows.h>
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    char shutdown = 'y';
    std::cout << "Shutdown(y/n)? ";
    std::cin >> shutdown;
    if( shutdown == 'y' )
        ExitWindowsEx( EWX_SHUTDOWN | EWX_FORCEIFHUNG , SHTDN_REASON_FLAG_PLANNED);
    return( 0 );
}

I will test the code and let you know if it works.

*edit forgot the reason testing now
Last edited on
Yeah I came across the function ExitWindowsEx but it was going on about inputting values and other parameters, I didn't understand it so I didn't use it.