cout vs printf

I'm relatively new to c and c++. Generally I use the g++ compiler but I haven't really been all that careful about using c code as opposed to c++. The way I see it, it shouldn't matter as long as memory is managed. please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, I don't really like the cout function, I prefer printf because I think it is easier to work with. I've been using printf in my c++ code.
One problem I have run into is that I'm not sure how to represent certain variable types such as an unsigned long. %d doesn't work. Is it possible, or is this one of the reasons why I should stick with cout?
printf("%0.2f", 3.141);

is nicer than

cout << setiosflags<ios::fixed> << setprecision(2) << 3.141;

but

cout << 5 << " + " << 4 << " = " << 9;

is a little bit easier to keep track of than

printf("%u + %u = %u", 5, 4, 9);

in my opinion.

%u is what you're looking for btw.
Last edited on
The big problems with printf are:
- Can't define your own type (iostream can overload new << operators... printf can't overload new % types).
- it's not type aware and therefore is error prone. Examples:
printf("%f", 5);  // explode
printf("%d", 2.1);  // explode

const char* foo = "I want a 3%discount";
printf(foo); // explode

const std::string bar = "blah blah";
printf("%s", bar) // explode 

The above are all incorrect uses of printf and will cause very strange/bad behavior in a program, and will often not trigger any compiler error. So you won't find out there's a problem until your program starts acting stupid.

The big problems with iostream/cout:
- Operates as a state machine which means it can't be threadsafe.
- Extremely verbose (typically much more to type than the printf alternative)

So there's definitely a tradeoff. I tend to prefer C++ solutions (so I'd prefer iostream in this case) for the increased type safety and expandability.
If std::ios_base::sync_with_stdio(false) has not been invoked: