So confused when programming

closed account (iAk3T05o)
I get so confused when programming anything other than basic stuff.

Most especially when using functions.
Is it because i'm going too fast or something else.
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
move this to the lounge. and dont worry about it. i was self taught, and got confused all of the time. it does have its benefits, but if i had discovered this site it would have been a lot easier. if you ever have any questions feel free to ask
It just seems so confusing and demotivating and i don't like not knowing what to do next
Think of a function as an expression that is evaluated. For instance, if we have: int i ; std::cin >> i ;

i + 32 is an expression; the result of this expression is an int

Likewise, if we have a function int foo( int a, int b ) ;
Like i + 32, foo( i, 32) too is an expression; the result of this expression is an int

When the function foo() is called, copies of two integers are passed to it. The function does something with these to arguments, evaluates the result of the expression, and gives back the evaluated result via a return statement.

#include <iostream>

int foo( int, int ) ; // declares that foo is a function
// it takes two parameters of type int and the result of evaluation is an int.

int main()
{
    int i ;
    std::cin >> i ; // say, 57

int k = i+32 ; // k is initialized with the result of evaluation of i+32
    std::cout << k << '\n' ;

int l = foo( i, 32 ) ; // l is initialized with the result of evaluation of foo( i, 32 )
    std::cout << l << '\n' ;

// use the expression anonymously
    std::cout << i + 56 << '\n' ; // print the result of evaluation of i + 56

// use the expression anonymously
    std::cout << foo( i, 56 ) << '\n' ; // result of evaluation of foo( i, 56 )
}

// define foo
int foo( int a, int b ) // a and b stand for the two integers that are pased too it
{
    int result = a + b ; // evaluate the result
    return result ; // and return it to the caller
}