Currency For A Game

Hey guys, I am trying to learn C++, I am at the point where I think I could try to make an RPG. This is probably a super easy question for all of you to answer so please do.

I would like to have more than 1 type of currency. Therefore, I was wondering if you would need a class for each type of currency?

So say I wanted 3 currency's called Silver, Gold and Diamond. Would i have to have a class for each of them?

I know It's a really beginner question, but i am a beginner. Thanks in advance
Classes for them seems like a good idea, however it also depends on how different "Silver" is from Gold or Diamond for whether or not it warrants its own class or not.

What I mean is, you would have a class called Currency or something.
There's multiple ways on how to store your data. You could store it as a string, or as the value it actually represents (ex: Gold represents 100 value, Diamond represents 500 value)

this is one option, not saying it's better or worse than others:
class Currency {
  //left out other boiler plate stuff
  public:
    Currency(int v)
    : value(v)
    {}
    std::string getType() const
    {
        if (value == 100)
        {
            return "Gold";
        }
        else if (value == 500)
        {
            return "Diamond";
        }
    }
  private:
    int value;
   //alternate: std::string type (either Gold, Diamond, Silver, etc)
};

Depending how how complex your Currency class is and how different "Silver" is from "Gold", you could have a base-class called Currency, and then Silver, Gold, and Diamond classes that would all inherit from your Currency class.

ex:
class Gold : public Currency {
  public:
    Gold()
    : Currency(100) //assuming Currency has a int value constructor.
    {}
}; 

(Also in your code you should separate your code into .h and .cpp files, not have the functions defined within the class definitions. I just put everything together to save typing)
Last edited on