Need help how to make a remove_if function to "remove_if_not"

So after trying to solve a problem for several hours i am very close. I need to remove all characters that is not alphabetical but currently i am removing all alphabetical characters and keeping everything else.

This is the piece of code that currently removes all alphabetical characters instead of removing all other characters except the alphabetical. Please help me make this a "remove_if_not" function. I have no idea where to start after experimenting a lot.

tempbook.erase(remove_if(tempbook.begin(), tempbook.end(), ::isalnum), tempbook.end());
Last edited on
Create another function that does the 'not' with isalnum(...) and pass that function.
Yeah i have no idea how to do that. I am new to c++ and need explaining as if i am 3 years old.

Thanks.
Last edited on
func notisalnum (para)
return !isalnum(para);
end func
Last edited on
I am sorry but i have been sitting with this for so long time and i have no idea what do.

I have been working with c++ for only a couple of days so EVERYTHING is a question-mark for me.

Something like this?
void NotAlphaNum ()
{
  return !::isalnum;
}

tempbook.erase(remove_if(tempbook.begin(), tempbook.end(), NotAlphaNum()), tempbook.end());

I did not get this to work. I am at a loss here. been sitting with code for 12hours so i cant really think anymore heh.
isalnum takes in a parameter. notalphanum should do the same.
NotAlphaNum should have the same return type and parameter has isalnum.
When passing to remove_if, you're passing the function itself, so you don't need the brackets.
Hmm i am not really sure what that parameter should be. Maybe i need to take a break from this and do i again in a few hours. My brain has stopped working. :D
bool NotAlphaNum (char ch)
{
  return (::isalnum(ch) == 0);
}

tempbook.erase(remove_if(tempbook.begin(), tempbook.end(), NotAlphaNum()), tempbook.end());