Is there a way to write this code to look more professional?

I am a beginner and I want to know if my code can be created in a more professional look?

void User_Account::set_username(std::string name)
    {

if(!is_username(name)) std::cerr<<"Not a valid username\n";
        username=name;
    }
  bool is_username(const std::string& s)
    {
        if(!valid_length(s)) throw std::length_error("Length Error!");
        if(!con_upper(s)) std::cerr<<"Add a uppercase letter\n";
    }
    bool con_upper(const std::string& s)
    {
        int i=0;
        char c;
        while(s[i])
            {
                c=s[i];
                if(isupper(c)) return true;
                i++;
            }
        return false;
    }

bool valid_length(const std::string& s)
    {
        const std::string::size_type acceptable_size = 8;
        return s.size() >= acceptable_size;
    }
Lines 4,9,10,19: Style suggestion: Move the conditional statement to the next line indented under the if. If you're using a debugger, this convention allows you to set a breakpoint on the conditional statement rather than having to set a breakpoint on the entire if statement.

Lines 4-5: If the user name is not valid, you go ahead and set it anyway. You now have invalid data in your class variable. You've told the user it's not valid, but you've not returned any indication to the caller of the function.

Lines 25-29: What if the length of the name is 0?
Line 28: You're returning true if the name is too long. You should be returning false.

Line 12: con_upper implies a conversion to upper, but the function only tests if the passed string is upper case.

Line 19: You're returning true on the first upper case character. You fail to test the remaining characters.

Lines 15-19: There is no need for c. You can use s[i] directly in the call to isupper.

Awesome @AbstractionAnon all this info will help me continue to grow, as far as line 25-29 should I create an if statement like: