Explanation please

Hi, so I have a Software exam coming up and I was trying to do some past papers to understand what it is I have to do.

Im still a beginner with classes and such, but was wondering if someone could explain the following code

class module_record
{
private:
    int module_ID;
    int exam_mark;
public:
    module_record(int _module_ID=-1,int _exam_mark=0)
        :module_ID(_module_ID),exam_mark(_exam_mark) {}
    module_record(const module_record& mr)
        :module_ID(mr.module_ID),exam_mark(mr.exam_mark) {}

I understand the class module_record is created with private variables module_ID and exam_mark that can only be used by the class. The next two constructors confuse me a little - what is the "-1" for? Everything following the :module_ID... whats that for? I believe it is called an initialisation list, but what does that mean, and how is it working in this code?

Thank!
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
What were your google and lecture notes results, I'm keen to learn too, but I'm lazy and have no research skills at all.
The -1 and the 0 are default arguments: if you call the constructor without any arguments then it will be the same as calling it with -1 and 0. Saves a bit of typing, having lots of different constructors, writing lots of initialisations.

The bits after the : are, as you say, an initialisation list. They are a shorthand way of setting the data members in the class. See "Member initialization in constructors" in
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/classes/
So typing module_record(int _module_ID=-1,int _exam_mark=0)

is the equivalent of typing
module_record(int _module_ID,int _exam_mark)
module_record()

and defining the first to be equal to the input, and defining the second to be equal to -1 and 0 respectively. (Which is what I would usually do) ?

I presume the -1 and 0 are subjective to the task given as to what they start at.

Thanks, I will have a read on initialisation lists!