Basic C array (I suck());

Hello, I have a C++ test tomorrow about a few basic things. One of them is using C arrays.

As a practice assignement I have to get the highest and lowest ASCII value from a given array:

char a[length] = { 'a', 'b', 't', 'a', 'z', 'Z', 'X' };

But I haven't gotten much further than this (I'm a noob). So what do I do now? :/ (also, the code doesn't work yet)

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;

char determainHighestAndLowest(char *max, char *min, char a[], int length);

int main()
{
	const int length = 7;
	char max, min

cout << "The maximum is: " << determainHighestAndLowest(&max, &min, a, length);

cin.get();

}

char determainHighestAndLowest(char *max, char *min, char a[], int length)
{
	double max = a[0];
	double min = a[0];

for (int i = 1; i < length; i++)
	{
		if (*max < a[i])
			*max = a[i];
	}

{
		if (*min > a[i])
			*min = a[i];
	}

}
That code has a lot of things right.

Just needs a bit of fixing here and there.

Line 12: missing semicolon.

Line 16. Don't try to call the function in the cout statement. Instead just call the function first, on a line by itself. Then use cout to output the values of max and min.

Lines 24 and 25. The mere presence of a variable of type double is enough to raise a few eyebrows. Also, the two variables declared have the same name as the two parameters max and min in the function header, and hence hide them.

Try this instead:
    *max = a[0];
    *min = a[0];

Lastly, the function determainHighestAndLowest() is declared as returning a value of type char, but it doesn't return anything. In fact it doesn't need to return anything. Just declare the function as type void.

Personally, I would have passed the variables max and min by reference rather than by pointer, since this is a C++ program.

See Arguments passed by value and by reference in the function tutorial:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/functions/