basic arrays question

so I'm going to have to ask a very basic question which I am kind of shy to ask since I have been learning c++ for 2 years on and off

anyway my question is as follows,here I get some errors

how come this isn't allowed we are returning a pointer to an array and I know this is allowed because arrays decay down to pointers to their first element

but how come this is giving me an error?

also when I return the pointer from the array function isn't this pointer pointing to memory that has gone out of scope?

so number[5] = out of scope memory?

thanks

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int* array(){

int numbers[] = {1,23,4,45,6};
	return numbers;
}

int main() {

int number[5] = array();
}

ALSO

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int* array(){

int numbers[] = {1,23,4,45,6};
	return numbers;
}

int main() {

const int* arr = array();

for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++){

cout << arr[i];

}
}

I'm not surprised this code compiles but I am quite surprised the code above crashes,I thought by making the int pointer const I am keeping the array which was returned in scope?

thanks
Last edited on
so number[5] = out of scope memory?

Yes. You allocated 5 elements [0]-[4]. So [5] is not a valid reference.

also when I return the pointer from the array function isn't this pointer pointing to memory that has gone out of scope?

Yes, numbers goes out of scope when array() exits.

I am quite surprised the code above crashes,I thought by making the int pointer const I am keeping the array which was returned in scope?

In the second snippet, numbers goes out of scope at line 8. The fact that you declared arr as const only means that you have told the compiler you're not going to modify arr within main(). The const declaration has nothing to do with whether the pointer returned by array() is in scope or not. It's not.

Last edited on
the word you want is static. If you do this

static const int blah[5];