Problem with hexadecimals addition implementation

Hello, I'm fairly new to programming and taking the introductory course for C++, and I'm having problems with a particular problem.

The problem is that I need to add two hexadecimals together, which i store in two arrays (a[] and b[]) of type char up to size of 10, and output the result of their addition as another array of type char(called c[]). If the addition of arrays results in a hexadecimal greater than 10 digits, I'm asked to output "Addition Overflow" and do nothing more.

My problem is inside the function I wrote that adds both arrays. Prior to this function call, I wrote a function that fills up the array with input from the user, and after that I filled the remaining elements of the array with '\0' (empty).

Before I post the code, here is the algorithm I designed for the function that adds the hexadecimals:
1. declare Initialize a variable called sum to 0, which is the result of adding the characters at index 'i' of arrays a[] and b[].
2. Use the isdigit and isalpha functions to check whether the character at index i (for both arrays) is a digit or a letter of the alphabet. Depending on which case it is, I use a subtraction operation to get the numerical value of the character and store that in sum. I tested this function separately in a driver program and it seems to have worked fine, so I don't believe this is the problem.
3. Once I have the values of sum, I used if-else statements to check their numerical value and assign the correct character belonging to it, to the array c at index j, which was declared and initialized to 0 before the loop started, and is incremented by one at the end of the loop.

If the number happens to be greater than 15, and less than 32, then I wrote code to subtract 16 from the total of sum, and repeat the same if-else statements to assign the character values to c[j].