Query OTP c++

Hi I would just like to ask. is it possible to write the output into a text file , if my output is changing every 15 sec.?

Basically i am supposed to be writing a simulation of an OTP device . so we have these 2 programs were in it is called DEVICE and USER. so device is suppose to generate the 4 digit pin that USER needs to use as a 2FApassword to log in . so what i was thinking was maybe i could write the OTP generated password into a text file so that USER can read into that file ??

sorry im a newbie . can someone please advice
Yes. 15 seconds is an eternity to a computer, but if your computer is extra slow you can create a ramdisk for it. You should not try to read it immediately, give yourself a small delay, maybe 10 seconds before you try to read it.

There are better ways... you can use 2 threads in 1 program that can talk to each other, or you can use 2 programs and process communication techniques if you want to dig into these topics (they are a bit advanced for new coder).
Last edited on
ohh that's great , so do i just use the normal method of writing into a file ? i mean using ofstream ? cos when i have tried to code it awhile ago , it seems like i can only see the first 4digits that was generated . rest of the OTP generated after 15 seconds didnt showed up .

"There are better ways... you can use 2 threads in 1 program that can talk to each other, or you can use 2 programs and process communication techniques if you want to dig into these topics (they are a bit advanced for new coder)." yes this sounds complicated , thanks for the advice , maybe i will try this once i get better in coding
yes.
Try this:

Open the file, write everything to it, close the file.

if you want to be a smart * you can have program 1 spawn program 2 at this point via

sleep(1000); //wait 1 second, assuming your sleep is in miliseconds
system("program2.exe");