D&D player and Int help

Pages: 12

Hi Im new to C++. To help me learn I made a program that shows me my charters states and iteams and what not. Took me a long time but I feel like I got loops down after doing it. The thing is I wanted to keep going with the app by making a combat section. I already made a if loop with a cin asking if you took damage or healed but now what I would like to do is add a function where you can add your party members and NPCs that you are fighting allong with the turn order. There is more stuff to go with it but I think if someone could just give me a hint not so much the answer I could learn how to do it from there. It's more about me learning than making the app because this is just for me. If anyone would like it after I'm done ill send it to you but I need hint to get me to learn this part first haha. I don't have any coding friends (because people are lazy) and I don't even know how to word this to look for it online. I tried to do a char [20 , 20 , 20] hoping it would make 3 differnt stings if I did a string p1 = ""; but that didn't work xp
This became a how to make caps not matter when really the above about how to do the thing is more imporant
Last edited on
If lookup is a char variable, not a string, either std::toupper or std::tolower (found in <cctype>) would work:

if (std::toupper(lookup) == 'X') { std::cout << "do something"; }
or
if (std::tolower(lookup) == 'x') { std::cout << "do something"; }
If lookup is a std::string, then you can access the first element in the string and convert with std::toupper or std::tolower:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <cctype>

int main()
{
   std::string yeah = "yes";
   std::string nay  = "NO";

if (std::toupper(yeah[0]) == 'Y')   { std::cout << "YES!\n"; }

if (std::tolower(nay.at(0)) == 'n') { std::cout << "no.\n"; }
}
YES!
no.