How to go about organizing my C++ files?

hi guys, c++ beginner here.

I'm reading 'Programming: Principles & Practice Using C++' and have just managed to compile and run my first .cpp file from the Mac Terminal after a bit of struggle configuring things - great feeling. I'll try to keep this short. My questions are:

For this file, I created a folder, 'hello', opened that in VS Code, saved a file to that folder, 'helloworld.cpp', and also placed 'std_lib_facilities.h' in that folder (the header Bjarne suggests for now). I then move to 'hello' from the Terminal, run 'clang++ helloworld.cpp -std=c++11' which gives me 'a.out', which I run with './a.out' . Repeating these steps with a new file inside the same 'hello' folder overwrites the previous 'a.out' -

-Should I be creating a new subfolder for every file I want to compile, so that it can hold 'a.out' without overwriting previous executables?

-If so, is there a different location I can place 'std_lib_facilities.h' so I would not need to copy it into every new subfolder?

-Lastly, as you can see, I had to include the '-std=c++11' compiler flag in order to get things to work - I was getting lots of errors without it. Is there anything I should change so I don't need to add this every time, which I can then change back when I move on from C++ 11 (the version this book uses)? Or should I just stick with adding that every time for now?

Any and all help is appreciated. Looking forward to learning more c++ and being a part of this forum :) thanks guys
you typically have folders yes.
eg
\c\include <---- your common, shared, includes, stuff you reuse
\c\src <------ your cpp files that go with the above includes.
\c\projectname <------- each project has its own folder

you also want to compile with a flag to name a.out to programsname.out (or whatever extension you want to use for the executable file)