Wondering what kind of data structure to use for a project

Pages: 12
Hello, I am getting back into programming after many years off the grid.

I am a cook and I want to make a program that stores and retrieves food pairings.

I am wondering what a good data structure to use would be? Arrays seem to be limited by their static size although if I am reading and writing from a text file maybe I can create them and destroy them as needed? I have some experience using struct. I have no experience using linked lists, hash tables or anything like that but they seem interesting. I started taking some online courses but there is so much irrelevant information involved that it makes my head spin and most of them don't relate to saving and retrieving information effectively.

For example I would like to store under
APPLE: caramel, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg etc.

and be able to add or eventually subtract items at any time.

Some direction would help, thank you
My best bet would be making a class to hold and return all the information you need. Inside the class you could have structs for each ingredient, for instance here apple, and within it, a vector of strings to hold the names of other ingredients you want paired with it. You could of course add and delete items from said struct but you would have to read from a file when you run the program and save to the file every time you change anything.

That's probably how I would go about doing what you said. I hope that helps :)
Not buying the "cook" story, but a map of string to vector of strings might do.

Input file:
apple: caramel, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg
orange: dirt, turd

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <fstream>
#include <sstream>
#include <string>
#include <vector>
#include <map>

using Vec = std::vector<std::string>;
using Map = std::map<std::string, Vec>;

int main() {
    using std::string;
    using std::getline;

Map food;
    std::ifstream fin("food.txt");