Why should i use this?

Pages: 12
Hello everyone! I wrote the following code where i have two functions which do the same thing but in an different way. Take a look:
#include<iostream>
using namespace std;

class one
{
    public:
        one(){};
        one(int k,int l):a(k),b(l){}
        one ad1(one& ena);
        one ad2(one& ena);
        void show() const{cout<<"a:"<<a<<",b:"<<b<<endl;}

private:
        int a,b;
};

one one::ad1(one& ena)
{

this->a+=ena.a;  //
    this->b+=ena.b;  //

return *this;
}

one one::ad2(one& ena)
{

return one((ena.a+a),(ena.b+b));
}

int main()
{
    one mia(7,2);
    one dio(5,6);
    one tria,tesera;

tria=mia.ad1(dio);
    tria.show();

tesera=mia.ad2(dio);
    tesera.show();

return 0;
}

As you can see both ad1,ad2 do the same thing,but since i am not very experienced in using "this" pointer i would like to ask you which are the benefits of using it? I mean why should i prefer to use "this" instead of calling the constructor and passing directly values in it.

Also,Are there any cases where only "this" pointer can help me to do my job? For example in some operator overloading? Thank you for your time !
First of all,you should be returning a constant reference for what you trying to do,it is more efficient and will not allow to use the return as an lvalue.Second,ad1 looks redundant to me,i would choose ad2.As for the last question,sometimes you have no choice but to use the this pointer,like when you want to compare the whole object with another from within that object.Like on:

bool myClass::operator!=(const right &)
{

return !(this==right); 

}
Last edited on
Nice example Sandy,thanks :) Maybe i could use it for something like that:

bool myclass::compare(const right& )
{
    if(this==right)
       return 1;
    else
       return 0;
}

is it right?
Yes that s' right,but redundant.Cheers.
cheers pal.
Hello kikirikou,

which are the benefits of using it?