I request help picking out software

I want to bring myself into the 21st century, in the programming arena. I have a few concepts for video games and request your advice. I am self-taught with no formal computer language training. I've spent the last few years programming in Basic, Fortan, and use SqlPlus to extract and analyze data from large databases.

I've searched a lot on the web and there are obviously a lot of products to choose from and many strategies.

At the moment, I was thinking about purchasing DarkBasic Professional to get started learning terminology and get some of my concepts down and then purchasing C++ along with associated compilers, finding other individuals to partner with and create final versions of my video games.

I am looking for your comments and recommendations for how I should get started and the software I should purchase.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
To learn C++ I use
http://www.bloodshed.net/

you might also search google for
microsoft visual c++ 2010 express
Last edited on
@SamuelAdams Please don't recommend that, it's abandoned. This is the current maintained version: http://orwelldevcpp.blogspot.co.uk/
I'd like to recommend trying Code::Blocks IDE with mingw compiler, because its free. Its also very lean.

I've tried learning with MS visual studio express 20xx but I've learned that they're very large and slow to load(on older machines). Sometimes requiring the latest .Net framework. You also have to get used to the bloated compile files that it generates. the benefit is that you can use MSDN to look up most of your error codes, but some of the errors are cryptic.

As far as developing professional games, I cant comment because I haven't done any professional game development.