can someone please explain this

I am new to c++, about 3 months into it. I asked this question on another forum and when I asked for an explanation I was informed I didn't need to understand. Anyway, the code posted below works but I have no understanding of <algorithm> and need to know another way of doing this. My project is to write a program to accept from the user one line of text and count and output the number of lowercase letters. I have been reading and trying to figure out how to do this for the greater part of the day, finally broke down asked online and got an answer way over my head. The part I don't understand should be in bold. Thanks

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <algorithm>
using namespace std;
int main()
{

string text;
	int count = 0;
	cout << " Enter one line of text: ";

if(getline(cin, text))
	{
        size_t count = count_if(text.begin(), text.end(),
               [](unsigned char ch) { return islower(ch); });
        cout << count << "\n";
    }
}

You can look up what count_if means in the reference section.

That other piece [](unsigned char ch) { return islower(ch); } is a lambda function. It's basically a function you can declare in place so you don't have to give it a name.

In this case, I'm not sure why they didn't just pass islower to count_if directly:
size_t count = count_if(text.begin(), text.end(), islower);
I have no idea what a lambda function is, other than the definition you just gave. My instructor gives bits and pieces of code and expects us to be able to sub our parts in as needed. I am at a loss. Is there another way you can show me how to do this? After the if(getline(cin, text)), how can I test for lowercase letters. I'm really honestly trying to learn this and not asking for you or anyone to do this for me. This is what I was given by my instructor to complete an 8 part assignment, this question is the first part.

#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>
#include <cctype>

using namespace std;