Modulo (%)

Hello,

First a little background might make this more clear/interesting. I am an electrician, industry standard says that in an electrical panel breakers are numbered as such:

breaker 1 :: breaker 2
breaker 3 :: breaker 4
breaker 5 :: breaker 6
........ :: .........
so on and so forth.

further more industry standard says that the wires that land on breaker 1 and 2, would be black, 3 and 4 would be red, and 5 and 6 would be blue. Following that pattern, breaker 7 and 8 would be black and the pattern is repeated. There is an old trick to quickly figure out what color wire would land on, say breaker 19. Take 19 / 6 = 3 with a remainder of 1. The remainder of 1 would make it a black wire because you mentally associate the remainder with a breaker.

Another quick example in case that isn't clear. "hmmm what color wire goes on breaker 59?" 59 / 6 = 9 with a remainder of 5. "BLUE!" Because the remainder of 5 is the same color as the #5 breaker.

When I read what % does while reading the c++ tutorial I immediately wanted to make a program that would:

ask user for a breaker number, then tell you what color of wire goes under said breaker.

I have started writing this up but, I have gotten stuck with how to make modulo work!

here is what I have so far (just working on the black wire for odd breakers so far):

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

string color;
int black;
int breaker_number;

int main ()
{

cout << "What breaker do you want the color of?\n";
cin >> breaker_number;

if (breaker_number % 6 = 1)
{
     color = black;
}

cout << breaker_number << " is the color: " << color << "." << '\n';

}

So if the input number divided by 6 has a remainder of 1, cout should say "7 is the color: black." but it doesn't. WHY!?!