Pointers?

Okay, I am relatively new to programming in C languages, and I am not stupid but I can't seem to wrap my head around this...

What is the point of pointers? Isn't an identifier really just a pointer to where it has allocated memory? So why use a pointer instead of using the original identifier? And further down the rabbit-hole, why use a pointer to point to a pointer? What is the *practical* use in doing so?

Last edited on
Last edited on
a pointer is a 4 byte memory location that holds an address to a block of memory.

When creating a variable in program space, the memory that is used is allocated (set aside memory) when the program is run, and destroyed when the program terminates. This means that you, as the programmer, need to know all the entities that the program needs to create at compilation time.

But lets sat that you are writing a program that tracks animal births. There is no way to determine how many animals are going to be born. So you need a way to allocate dynamically when the program is being run. This is a good time to use a pointer to memory created using new.

Another example is to pass by pointer. Remember that when you pass an object into a function you can pass it three ways: by value, by reference, and by pointer. When you pass by value, an entire copy of the object is made on the stack, and the program uses this to operate on, leaving the original unchanged. This is okay when using predefined types, because the size of the object is relatively small. But lets say that you are trying to pass a large object. It becomes easier to pass by reference or pointer, because the CPU doesn't make a copy of the entire object, it just uses the pointer to reference the original object.

Have you ever used a 2d array?

int array[2][2];

if you wanted to create this dynamically at run time you would need to use a pointer to a pointer:

int ** Array;

would be the same thing.
Last edited on