Beginners - December 2011

Calculator code issue

I have recently written code for a calculator. I've used functions to define how to do the operations. The user selects the operation using a character. That ch...
[5 replies] Last: That is great I am happy for you :). (by Stormhawk)
by kapo
GCF algorithm error

/*Revise the program so that it prints out all the steps involved in the algorithm. Here is a sample output: GCF (500, 300) => GCF (300, 200) => GCF (100, ...
[3 replies] Last: yea i changed it to return Gcf(b, a%b); and it worked. thx guys... (by kapo)
Linking Two Programs

I'm back again haha(: I'm fairly new to c++ and I don't know how to link 2 c++ files together. What I have is a c++ file that is a basic password checker and a...
[3 replies] Last: It means you've screwed up the start of the function. Let's see the co... (by Moschops)
Multipling multipal decimals

Help needed. I'm writing a simple code that computes metric and imperial measurements, however when I try this multiplication "output =(input*0.001)*0.001" it ...
[2 replies] Last: I'll try that one also, but I found a solution. Here is a piece of the... (by leechmonger)
by Jimbot
Class inheritance guidance

Hello, I have been working on a blackjack game and have tried to make use of the inheritance feature of classes in my design, but I am not sure whether I hav...
[3 replies] Last: Thanks for the replies. Yes I did wonder about having another class ... (by Jimbot)
ifstream not working

Hey folks, ... in my first week of C++ programming, I'm using ubuntu and eclipse ide. I can't get ifstream to read a simple text file. goo.txt is just a garba...
[3 replies] Last: What does it say about this code? Which compiler (not IDE) are you us... (by Moschops)
two similar bits of code using stringstream; only one works

I'm trying to write a program which opens a text file with a name of the form "file0.txt" or "file20.txt" or anything like that. I mucked about with a few metho...