C++ Encryption / Decryption Issues

Ladies and Gentlemen;

I'm very new to programming and have encountered an issue that is over my head. I've fought with this assignment up to the deadline and have received no help from my current instructor on the issue, so I'm begging fro assistance. Again I'm new, so please don't flame me too bad for my formatting.

The program is supposed to take a txt file, extract the contents, encrypt it with a user input key, and write it's contents to another txt file. I'm still fighting the encryption side, I'm sure the decryption is even worse at this point but I'm not going to mess with it until I get the encryption side finished up.

*PROBLEM*
-Encryption side only (right now, I know decryption is bad aswell)
It reads the file as intended, but then everything goes out the window and it outputs a very odd string of "=======" on the screen, but a ascii jumble in the file itself.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what I have so far (again please take it easy on me I know it is far from perfect).

# include <cstring>
# include <iostream>
# include <iomanip>
# include <fstream>
# include <string>
# include <cmath>

using namespace std;

const int highLimit = 129;
char menuChoice;
char key[highLimit];
string inTxtLoc, outTxtLoc, inMsg, outMsg;
fstream inTxtFile;
fstream outTxtFile;
int countMax;

char getMenuChoice (char);
char getKey (char [], int);
void getEncrypt (char [], int, string, string, string, string);
void runDecrypt (char [], int, string, string, string, string); 

int main ()
{

do
	{
	cout << "|----------------------------------------------------------------------|\n";
	cout << "|                    Secure Message Delivery System                    |\n";
	cout << "|----------------------------------------------------------------------|\n";
	cout << "|      This program will ENCRYPT and DECRYPT the given message.        |\n";