What exactly is threading? What to learn next?

Hi, LeafyCircuits here!

I was wondering what threading is in C++. I've done some research and I guess the idea is to have separate process that run parallel to each other in a program. I'm not sure if I'm hitting in the ballpark with that description, so I was wondering if someone could explain threading properly, or at least point me to a good tutorial.

I also realize that people have asked this question several times on here. But searching the forums here wasn't very successful for me. If you know of a thread though, you can point me to it too. :)

I was also wondering if you guys think I should tackle this area of C++. I am a 15 year old, self-taught programmer and I've been programming for 1 and 1/2 years now. My main source of knowledge is a book called "C++ for Dummies, 2nd edition" (2006). I got started with C++ with that book, but being published in 2006, it was on C++03, so I started browsing the internet for the C++11 techniques and libraries. I'm fairly decent now in C++ and currently I'm learning about the <chrono> library, and I've been using PDCurses a lot lately. However, I still need a lot of practice before I feel like I can call myself "good" at C++. I want to start moving into WinAPI and Boost sometime, or just basic graphical/auditory programming (getting tired of that old terminal :3).

With that in mind, I would like to know if you guys think threading is a probable thing to get into. And while were on the subject of learning: I need some guidance....