How do I hide class implementations using headers?

Hi,
I am currently working on data abstraction. I was able to write a class (a simple clock, see Malik's C++ book, Chapter 12 for reference). As you can imagine, I am quite new to programming and C++.

Well, now I created a header file clock.h that includes the class definition and function prototypes as well as a implementation.cpp file with the implementation details of the class.

I managed to include all this in my program.cpp and compile it (using dev c++). Everything works exactly as I want it to.

So now my question is, how can I create ... I am not sure how it is called ... a header, but without revealing to the user how the functions are implemented.
Basically the user should get a file (the object code of the header + implementation.cpp?) and simply #include it into his own program.

So instead of giving the original header + implementation.cpp to the user I want to hide how my class does its stuff and instead just provide some file that can be included and then used in a program (I will write a documentation how to use the class).

I am not sure how all this is called, I am sure there is some name for it...

Thanks a lot for your help!
I can see two ways to interpret this question.

The first is that you are looking to make a static library. Define your class like this:

// Foo.h
class Foo
{
public:
    void bar();
};

// Foo.cpp
#include <iostream>
void Foo::bar()
{
    std::cout << "Foo::bar" << std::endl;
}

Now compile your project as a static library. I don't know if this is even possible in DevC++, but in Visual studio you'll get a .lib file. In your other solution, link to the .lib file, include the header, and you're good to go.

You can also create dynamic libraries (DLLs or .so), but that's a little tougher because you have to deal with entry points.
Last edited on