Newbie would like some C/C++ advice.

Hello,

After 25years in the steel industry i have now lost my job due to closure and my local job centre have offered to pay for me any C & C++ courses.

I have no knowledge of any computer language however i would like to learn C & C++ for two reasons.

1) for a possible future programmer job.

2) My hobby is building DIY modular synthesisers (Eurorack) and I've got to the stage where i would like to be able to write firmware/software for Cortex ARM processors/Teensy 3.2 etc for plans of possibly building my own synth modules.

So the questions buzzing around my head are...

1) Do i need to learn C first before i learn C++ ?
2) Am i just jumping into this blind and need to know other things first ?
3) Should i do a online course, any recommendations ?

any steering in the right direction will be gratefully received.

PS sorry I've just noticed i maybe should of put this in the beginners forum.
Last edited on
1.) No. C++ is fine.
2.) I think learning C++ is a good choice. A lot of schools (mine included teach it as their first course). Most teach Python nowadays but I personally like C++ as an introductory. That being said, C++ is stricter than most languages which makes it a little less beginner friendly.
3.) I have none. My school offers an online version of an introductory C++ course, but unless you are a Mormon you probably won't want to take a course by BYU.
1)You don't have to.
2)Try learning some simpler languages first, to learn some general syntax. Javascript would work well for this .
3)The tutorial on this website should be fine to start off.
Last edited on
Hi and welcome to cplusplus :+)

1. No. IMO it's much better to learn something higher level like C++ first. C is more for lower level stuff, doing this first will be harder in a lot of ways. C is also a different paradigm to C++, it involves a different line of thinking. I think this link might be helpful (it's a post by one of our top members)