Solution for this question Please

Pages: 12
Hi,

I am very very new to C+= programming and this is my first assignment.Can some one please help me with the solution.Also can you please let me know which software do i need to download to run this code?I will be very thankful please help me

Question :-

Given a starting integer n, less than one million, a sequence (which terminates at 1) can be generated using the following criteria;
1. If n is even, n = n/2
2. If n is odd, n = 3n + 1
As an example, if we start with n = 13, the sequence generated would be;
{13, 40, 20, 10, 5, 16, 8, 4, 2 1}
Task: Find the starting integer n which produces the longest sequence.
Note, while the starting integer n must be less than one million, terms in the sequence may be larger than one million, as for example if n = 999,999, the first step will be to set equal to 3n+1, obviously making the next term greater than one million.

Before you can run the code you need to write it. Any text editor will do with a compiler, try gcc.
Hi Ajh 32,

Can you please help me with the solution to this problem?

Thanks
Are you saying that as soon as a term is located which is a duplicate we stop searching as well? As you example of a seed of 13 would result in the sequence you have stated then 4:

{13, 40, 20, 10, 5, 16, 8, 4, 2, 1, 4}

as 1 being odd would result in 1*3 +1;
Last edited on
This is a collatz sequence problem. I have solved this on project euler and the way I did it was to start at the biggest odd number I can find below 1M. This was 999,999; then I knew that to produce a very long sequence, I needed to not include even numbers in the numbers I will be checking because if I do, it will not take very long to reduce that number to 1.

So from 999,999 I checked every odd number below that and this should get you your answer.

As a last tip, I will leave you with this:
The longest sequence is 524

gl
Hi Ajh 32,