For Loops

I am a beginning C++ programmer trying to figure out how what to include in the test update section of a for loop that prompts the user to enter temperature in degrees Celsius, the number of conversions, and how much to increment.
I have been banging my head against wall on this and know the answer is probably simple.
I want the for loop section to run x number of times. Here is a sample of the for loop.
for (int tempCelsius = tempStart; tempCelsius <= tempEnd; tempCelsius+=advance){
cout << tempCelsius << "\t\t" <<((9.0/5.0) * tempCelsius + 32) << endl;

Any help would be appreciated. My problem is with the test update section of for loop.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
can you tell me what a "test update section" of a loop is please?
For sure my lingo is way off here.
for (initialization; test; update)
statement;

I am having problems programming the test portion to do what I want it to do.
The display should look like so. I would never ask for a hint if I hadn't spent an ungodly amount of time racking my brain.

//this is a sample run of what i want
Enter starting Celsius value: 0
Enter number of conversions: 4
Enter increment between values:5

Celsius Fahrenheit
---------------------------
0 32
5 41
10 50
15 59

I want it to run "x" amount of times but am stumped by something real easy I'm sure. The way I have the for loop setup now it will run from tempStart to tempEnd.
So your starting temp and end temp are consts? In that case, your current for loop will run all the way from 0 Celcius to whatever it is your end temp is right?

Then the "test" section of the for loop needs to include a condition for "number of conversions" (use a logic operator ie. &&). Throw in an update for your number of conversions in the "update" section of the for loop to end the loop separated with a comma operator.
Last edited on