General C++ Programming - March 2016 (Page 2)

A GUI on Windows and Xorg. How to escape the command line?

I'm writing a program that has grown extremely fast. It is now time to overstep boundaries and take this thing to the next level, GUI. Unfortunately, I need to ...
[11 replies] Last: That's probably what I'm going to do, but I like having a full underst... (by RealGiganitris)
creating a struct

//CONSTRUCTOR // pre: d is the character data being counted, // c is the count. // post: allocates memory for a new frequency record // return: a refe...
[1 reply] : Why are you defining the structure inside the function body? Don't do ... (by LB)
2D array user choice selection, getting odd answers

Hi, I'm really new to C++, and whenever I see an exercise in the book I'm learning from I like to expand on it, or use it to build something else I'd like to se...
[6 replies] Last: Hi, yes, you could help me out with this project I've given myself. I... (by nostromo)
Struct constructor stores wrong addresses?

I'm doing a menu with few choices - the code is literally the same for all menu items, however one of the menu items (Software - Applications, 66. line) stores ...
[1 reply] : Calling std::vector::push_back() may invalidate pointers to elements o... (by helios)
Template polymorphism

I'm making a class which will provide a common interface to two very different implementations. What do you think is the best design pattern to use to achieve ...
[1 reply] : The left side could be rewritten like this without any breakage: str... (by helios)
Integration and Differentiation

I have an assignment for my c++ class at college and i wasn't able to go to class for the last week for medical reasons and i was looking for some help... th...
[1 reply] : Here are some ideas: #include <iostream> #include <string> #include ... (by Stewbond)
by nap 93
problem with sequential function