Why do we bash on young programmers

Pages: 123... 7
I am a 14 year old developer. i am not going to say i am good. on a level from noob-intermidate i would say i am "-". yet still we have people on forums saying "script kiddie", but i dont know a "script kiddie" who can crash a simple server from there OWN code.i am tired of people just assuming im a complete noob. its not like im so outlandish to think i can write something as good as minecraft. infact im not even trying to write a game. i prefer networking, and network sercurity. i am currently working on an xml-rpc server
Last edited on
"Script kiddie" has nothing to do with age, it means someone who only uses scripts and tools and code written by other people to "hack".

I've not seen anyone here "bash" young programmers, and I've been here since I was your age.
the young programmers get plenty of the respect they deserve for following the rules and being polite and asking intelligent questions,

its the muppets like me who deserve to be bashed from time to time, quite often young and beginners don't really understand what ticks off experienced programmers, or know what a stupid question is yet, but its not ageist or noobist.

this site is the best for patient experienced people who help because you are partially right, their are forums full of snobs and bullies (like dream in code)
Last edited on
@ OP: You see the trick is NOT crashing the server. Any moron can call "WriteProcessMemory()" on a system critical service and pump in garbage data until you overwrite something important. It takes maybe a week or two to learn how to use the sockets library to connect to a port and keep writing data until something bad happens on the other end.