When did you really start programming

Pages: 12345
My 14th birthday was September 2012.

I started coding on and off March 2012-September 2012. I picked it back up April 2013 and have done it since.

Keep in my in April I got all the basics extremely quickly because I already learned everything from before.

If you are wondering how I got these dates it is based on my post history. This is the second search result when you google "C++" which is how I discovered it and have always had it(or at least the beginners forum) handy.

The reason why I started programming is because I was bored and had recently discovered what programming even was(I think in a Minecraft forum). I wanted to try it myself. I chose C++ because my Software Engineer cousin told me to.
Last edited on
closed account (N36fSL3A)
i am a pr0 h4x0r wh0 iz bo$$ w1th b4tch
Spoken like a true 12 year old.
^so true. Why was my post reported?
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Probably because you always tend to act like a troll and derail thread after thread?
@Fredbill30
pr0 h4x0rs never claim publicaly themeselves h4x0rs this tells for that you aren't.

I started programming when i was 14 (C++).
Last edited on
It was so long ago, that I can't remember. I was probably 10 or 11 (GW Basic, Pascal then C). At age 13 (7th grade) I recall writing some simple games and fixing bugs in a program of the teacher, who was also a self-taught programmer. Yay, programming was such a fun then. And there was no Internet and figuring out even very basic things were much harder than now.
Heh, I started three years ago. I was a sysadmin, decided the part of sysadmin-ing I liked the best was scripting (Perl/Python/ksh), so I thought to myself - why not get a job where I got to do that all day?

So I bought the book(s), picked up a few projects, applied for some jobs and finally got one that didn't require me to take a pay cut.
I don't detrail threads at all and I am not aware that I troll.