What was you first programming language ?

Pages: 12
Hello everyone,
I want to ask decently experienced a question.
What was the first language you have tackled and thought to your self it was a good decision ?
And what would you recommend from this present day ?
My first attempt at learning to program was when I was 11 years old, with something called DarkBASIC. It was a language and set of libraries sepcifically for making simple games. I gave up pretty quickly, though.

The first language I really learned and was my jumping point on becoming a programmer was C++, when I was 14 or so. Actually learned a lot of it using this forum as help.

Present day, I recommend a set of languages to be learned in succession.

If the person is a complete novice with no experiencing with anything programming related, I recommend Python to learn the basics (control structures and variables). After that, I recommend something like Java or C# to get the hang of C derived languages as well as learn about types and how to use basic data structures (the latter could be done in the python phase as well, I'm not a teacher and don't know what would be accepted as best practice). After that I recommend pure C to learn memory management and how to implement data structures.
Last edited on
closed account (2LzbRXSz)
I first got into HTML. I don't think I even really realized what I was doing, because I was 8 years old, but I knew I enjoyed whatever I thought it was. Fast forward a few years, I studied HTML closer, learned CSS, JQuery, then Python.

From that point on I was pretty flippy floppy. Python to C++ to Ruby, to Java, back to web design, to PHP - hell anything I could find a tutorial on I'd try, change my mind, and keep switching. I finally settled with C++ and I'm very happy that I did. I would like to brush up my skills on the other languages I started progress on, or even learn new languages. For now I'm content though.