Advice for new linux user

closed account (i8bjz8AR)
Hi all,

So I'm a computer science student at university. For my next class and upcoming classes (data structures, object oriented programming, etc), we will pretty must have to be working in the same grading environment as our professor, which will most likely be Linux. So I figured now over Christmas break would be a good time to introduce myself to the os. I'm just running windows 10 on a toshiba i3 processor. Which version would be the best for me being a absolute beginner? Our main language is c++ at the moment. Would you guys recommend something red hat or LTS or mint? Any suggestions would be great so I can familiarize myself with it a bit!

Also, I'm going to be getting a new laptop. I'm an android/windows guy, but did think about a mac book air or pro, just because they're small and light, and get good battery life. I've also heard Lenevo Thinkpads are commonly used among programmers, especially for coding because of their keyboard. Battery life is important and I'd atleast want a intel i5 processor, with a decent screen for editing programs all night and searching for that messing semicolon, along with it being semi lightweight. I would run Linux on this new laptop as well and i read you can dualboot OS X and linux on a mac and that it runs fine. What would you guys reccomend for me as a computer science major? Thanks!
I'd recommend Ubuntu as it's easy to go from Windows to Ubuntu, as you can do most things without the terminal if you want to, and the stuff you do need to do is really easy to pick up. I really wouldn't go for a Mac, especially if you're also using Linux as it really doesn't give you any advantages over the cheaper (imo better) Windows. I'm currently using a Lenovo Z50 which runs everything I might want it to perfectly fine and can even handle things like Unreal.