Feeling like I missed the boat

Hey guys,

Heads up, I think I'm just going to be complaining. So my apologies now for one of those "Back in my days" topics.

As of Feb 5th(2017), I've considered myself a coder for 13 years now, and I've struggled for many many years before that to understand how to code with no tutors, mentors, or teachers. I've taken three serious semesters of college/university classes to get my bachelors before money ran out. I've taken miscellaneous other classes to help learn what I couldn't teach myself.

I've always wanted to be a programmer but every job interview refused to look at portfolios either printed out or on a personal website, nor would they do a full interview before I got a bachelor's degree, because coding for yourself in your spare time doesn't count. This includes winning many coding competitions against graduates and non-graduates.

Well, I'm in my forties now and I feel I still don't know even half of what I need to know, finishing a degree will put me in my mid-to-late forties, and the coding solutions aren't coming to me like they use to. Hell not even the motivation is as strong as it use to be.

I just feel like I've missed the boat.

I guess what's worse is I'm afraid to take that leap back into poverty to chase this old dream. I've got an all-around amazing non-coding job with good people I work for.

Here's my question:
Did I miss the boat?

I started programming when I was 13 years old and I'm now 35 (will be 36 this year). Anyone that tells you that you can't get a job without a BS is full of shit plain and simple. Even the numbers show they are lying as the last numbers I recall seeing was well over a million tech jobs and only around 400k grads getting a BS. Look at the game industry, a developer I used to talk to regularly from NaughtyDog said that only two guys on the Crash Bandicoot game had college degrees.