How long have use been programming?

Pages: 12
I've been using C++ for almost 20 years. I still learn new ways to do things regularly. With the new C++ standard arriving soon, I have many more years of learning new tricks to look forward to.
Speaking of the new standard coming this year, is there any word on exactly when we can expect it? I hear that much of the boost libraries will be incorporated into the new standard.
as a high school student 2-3 months, as a university student 2-3 months, and now for another 3 months

Makes me a straight beginner compared to the posts I see here :)
Return: It will probably be ratified in late 2009, and published in 2010. However, since most of its features are already known, there's no reason to think that some compilers won't release a sort of preview version. This is my own speculation, though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C%2B%2B0x
Last edited on
closed account (z05DSL3A)
Microsoft have released a 'Feature Pack' for VC2008:
This feature pack also includes an implementation of TR1. Portions of TR1 are scheduled for adoption in the upcoming C++0x standard as the first major addition to the ISO 2003 standard C++ library. Our implementation includes a number of important features such as:
• Smart pointers
• Regular expression parsing
• New containers (tuple, array, unordered set, etc)
• Sophisticated random number generators
• Polymorphic function wrappers
• Type traits
• And more!

Documentation for Microsoft's implementation of TR1: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb982198.aspx
closed account (309Ey60M)
1 week, lol
but i'll appreciate any1 who would like to teach me more so i don't have to go at it alone
i use C++
magiciankyle@yahoo.com
I started programming six years ago with HTML and TI-BASIC. Overtime, I have worked with XHTML, Java, C++, Javascript and CSS as well. Java and C++ are the only languages I learned from an instructor in a class room though.
Five years, learned C++ in that time all by myself.