Am I a bad programmer?

Pages: 12
closed account (10oTURfi)
Dont know where to start so...

I started learning C++ 10 months ago, when I figured that there is no any programming in high school program. After 5 months of learning syntax and solving various beginner exercises I started working on my first (and only) project.

It was just a simple 2D RPG for "young programmers contest". It took me 2 months to finish it. Ofcourse, it failed it purpose as it wasn't accepted to national level (keep in mind that I live in very small country).

After contest, I noticed that my code is ugly as hell. So I started re-writing whole thing. Every few days I would notice that new code was still ugly/inefficient, so I would rewrite it again.

Today, after 3 months and hundreds of rewrites later, with 50% smaller .exe, running in handful of RAM and loading stuff in much less time I still notice how my code can still be better!

So I just got sick of it and wondered: Do I suck at programming? Why the hell I need more than 5 months to write good code for such a small project (3.5k lines). And that good code will become bad code in few days, when I realise that there is a better way to write that. Looking at some other indie games on Github, I notice that they don't make such mistakes and never rewrite the code every few days. And worst part is, from users point of view, my game hasn't changed a slighest bit! I'm not adding anything new, just fixing old mistakes.

What should I do? Do I need to read a book on design? Scrap this project and try something new? Or I just suck at this?
Just practice. I have more than 10 years of experience and I still find some of my code ugly and rewrite it sometimes.
closed account (zb0S216C)
Generalising your entire knowledge of programming down to "sucking" is quite a poor evaluation of yourself. In my opinion, no-one is bad at anything; people simply lack the knowledge of the subject in hand.