system ("clear") for xcode

I just started programming with Xcode in C + + and i have a little problem with the command system ("clear").
When i build and run the program it start but, rather than clear the screen the program writes "TERM environment variable not set" and continues as if nothing had.
So, what can i do for clear the screen ? (what function can i use for clear the screen ?)
I don't see a purpose in having to clear the console. It is there to display information.. You can output a bunch of new lines though possibly.
1. You should not run external programs with system().

2. Know thine terminal. Microsoft's terminal does not speak the same language as the rest of the world. Some terminals do understand "ANSI codes". Special character sequences that when printed do something else than show up.

Technical: when system() executes 'clear', the clear needs to know the type of terminal and system() did not tell.
Linux# man clear
NAME
       clear - clear the terminal screen

SYNOPSIS
       clear

DESCRIPTION
       clear  clears your screen if this is possible.  It looks in the
       environment for the terminal type and then in the terminfo
       database to figure out how to clear the screen.

clear ignores any command-line parameters that may be present.

Last edited on
I don't see a purpose in having to clear the console. It is there to display information.. You can output a bunch of new lines though possibly.
see ive never understood that one, because you arent guaranteed that the console will be clear when you run it