Best GUI for learning C++ in Ubuntu Linux

Hi Guys,

I am a programming newbie taking a C++ course at my local college. I am interested in what the best GUI package is for building GUI's in Linux. Ideally, I'd like to learn something that is fairly straight-forward and portable to Windows/Mac. Not sure this exists!!! Maybe I am such a newbie that I am asking for the impossible. I use Ubuntu 12.04 with LXDE, Unity, and KDE depending on the machine and my mood. I simply want to be able to make GUI fronts for console apps I've built.

Any good pointers to the right library (GTK, QT, etc.) and any good tutorials or videos would be appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Clutter looks very promising to me, although i did not have the time yet to create some gui's with it so unfortunately i can not tell you much about it, if it's good or bad or something. Maybe you just want to try it out: https://clutter-project.org/

Edit: Hm just read that you're a newbie in c++, so i guess clutter won't be a good thing for you since you can't just drag n drop buttons etc. (i guess that is what you are searching for) :/
Last edited on
I believe you mean IDE? GUI is graphic user interface which I guess could be construed to mean the same as integrated development environment.

Personally you could just use Kate which has a C++ coding setting. It will highlight your code and show loops and function blocks. However you could get all fancy and run with Eclipse or CodeBlocks.

No, he didn't mean IDE.

I haven't programmed in any GUI's (well, other than what I was forced to use in my VB classes) so I can't say, but if I did program in a GUI the first one I would try is QT.
I started with FLTK which has a short learning curve, you can get an application up very quickly.