Undeclared Functions in Dev-C++

How come this code returns errors in "case WM_CREATE" as seen below, and how would I fix those errors?

#define ID_BUTTON 1

/*  This function is called by the Windows function DispatchMessage()  */

LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProcedure (HWND hwnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
    switch (message)                  /* handle the messages */
    {
        case WM_CREATE:(
             CreateWindow(TEXT("Button"), Text("button"),
             WS_Child | WS_Visible,
             hwnd, (HMENU) ID_BUTTON, NULL, NULL
             );

break;

}

case WM_DESTROY:
            PostQuitMessage (0);       /* send a WM_QUIT to the message queue */
            break;
        default:                      /* for messages that we don't deal with */
            return DefWindowProc (hwnd, message, wParam, lParam);
    }

I am new to C++ and have some experience with HTML, Java, PHP, and Ruby. My terminology may be of so forgive me if you could. I am watching this tutorial video on creating buttons in a window using C++. I follow all the same steps as the video shows up to 4:47 (Video here: http://youtu.be/lDu-l4aU2Qw?t=4m47s). After he defines ID_Button 1 he compiles and runs the program, but I get these errors.

In function `LRESULT WindowProcedure(HWND__*, UINT, WPARAM, LPARAM)':
`Text' undeclared (first use this function)
`WS_Child' undeclared (first use this function)
`WS_Visible' undeclared (first use this function)
Last edited on
I did not watch the video, but no, none of that is standard C++. It's some Microsoft or Windows library code/variation thereof. If you're just learning C++, I do not suggest doing any operating system-dependent code, stick with standard stuff (it's probably easier to understand, too).