Seeking help abou GUI as a beginner

I'm a new programmer and I have only solved the problems in command promp box at windows. But I want to learn to make e proper software which will have GUI.. Please anyone suggest me how could I learn GUI
If you want to make a game, use a graphics library like SFML:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/

If you want to make a GUI application, use a library such as Qt:
https://www.qt.io/developers/

There are of course other alternatives, such as Magnum, Allegro, wxWidgets, etc.
You could also read up on the WINAPI which is Microsofts own GUI library for building Windows applications. Simply include it into your project with #include <Windows.h> and get started!
Last edited on
@CGunn86: I strongly recommend not doing that, as it will severely limit your ability to compile your application/game for other platforms such as Mac and Linux. Also, the Windows API is a C API, and using it in C++ is a nightmare. Unless you have a really good reason to need to work directly with the Windows API, I recommend using a more high level library that is portable to other platforms and integrates better with C++ idioms.
@LB: what about unreal engine?
@chipp: I've personally never used Unreal Engine, but it would definitely be a good idea to use it if you wanted to make a 3D game. Generally people want to start with a simple 2D game though and not have to worry about all the complicated math.
Last edited on
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
The minimum requirements for the Unreal Engine on Windows are a bit steep, Win7/8 and 64-bit required, especially when starting out learning GUI interfaces. Similar with Mac.

Linux looks like the only OS that is not so high-end.

Bjarne Stroustrup uses the Fast Light Toolkit (FLTK) GUI library: http://www.fltk.org/index.php

I can't say personally if it is any good because I have not used it yet, but I would consider the creator of C++ using it makes for a worthy recommendation.
Last edited on