void pointer and cout

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and to C++.
I'm studying pointer from the tutorial.
But there is an unexpected behavior I can't understand.
The following code works as It is supposed to do.
  void * b;
  int * c;
  c = (int *) b;
  *c = 6;
  int d = *c;
  cout << "int * c = " << c << "--" << "*c =" << d << endl;

But if I try to have some output using cout:
  void * b;
  int * c;
  c = (int *) b;
  *c = 6;
  cout << "int * c = " << c << "--" << "*c =" << *c << endl;

at run-time a segmentation fault is the result.
Does anyone know why?
Thank you in advance.
Last edited on
You are performing undefined behavior by dereferencing c without initializing it or pointing it to something valid.

If it worked at all you were just lucky, and as you discovered, it doesn't always work.
Even the first code snippet is a problem.

neither b nor c is pointing to anything in particular. in line 6 (*c = 6), you're de-referencing an uninitialised pointer.

A pointer holds an address, so when you do "*c = 6", you're storing c at the address held in c. Since c is holding some random address, you've stored 6 at some random location in memory. The effect of this could be anything, from setting to your house on fire to seemingly working fine.

Always initialise your variables before using them.

You may say, "Aha! I initialised it (c = (int *b))" Well, you never initialised b, so initialising something with an uninitialised something else just means they are both equally uninitialised.

int y; // compiler creates storage for sizeof(int) bytes and names it y, y is uninitialised and contains some random value
int x = 0; // compiler creates storage for sizeof(int) bytes and names it x. x is initialised and contains 0;
int *c = &x; // c now holds the address of x;
*c = 12; // c still holds address of x, x now holds value 12
int *b; // b is uninitialised and points to some random location in memory