Call statements

1)funct1(num1 +9, num1, num2);
2)funct1(2, num1);
3)funct1(num1, num2 + 5, num3);
4)funct1( 9, num1, num2 , num3);

I am just beginning to learn about subprograms in C++. Would appreciate any help determining which of the above call statements would be invalid to use.

Can arithmetic operators be used in the parameters such as in #1 and #3?
Last edited on
I don't think we can help if you don't have any work for us to help with. Could you explain what you think about each one?
Firstly, they're called "functions", not "subprograms".

Every single one of those could be a valid function call. However, we'd need to see the function declaration in order to know whether they are valid or not.
Last edited on
Here a hint:
In C++, arguments could be taken either as value or as reference.

int my_func( int a )  // takes an argument by value, returns a value
{ return a+1; }

int& another_func( int &a )  // takes an argument by reference, returns a reference
{ a += 1; return a; }

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
    int a = 3;

std::cout << my_func(a) << std::endl;
    std::cout << my_fnuc(a+10) << std::endl;

std::cout << another_func(a) << std::endl;
    std::cout << another_func(a+10) << std::endl;
}

From your edit:

In some circumstances yes, in others no. I can only reiterate:

MikeyBoy wrote:
we'd need to see the function declaration in order to know whether they are valid or not.

Last edited on
subprogram is fine. Its is used generally across many languages. Honestly, function is incorrect, as the y=f(x) terminology/concept breaks down with both void routines and pass by reference routines. And for some unholy reason a function in a class is a method, whatever the heck that even means. Still, incorrect or not, c++ lingo would prefer "function" (incorrectly used or not) & "method" for "subroutines" or "subprograms". /shrug I think we know what it means, regardless.