Meaning of Thread and sleep_for()

Goodmorning everyone.
I'm a beginner in using C++. I have enclosed a code found on web that computes the duration of a specific calculation (in this case the time spent to write on the console the number 5).
My question refers to "thread". what is its meaning in this code? My attention, in particular, is focused on "sleep_for(1s)". Is this affecting the calculation time? If yes, how?

Anyway, my task is computing the time from the start of a first calculation (that is defined in a first function) to the end of a second calculation (that is defined in a second function). In other words the time I'm looking for is the sum of the time of each calculation where every calculation is specified in a specific function. How can I do it?

#include <iostream>
#include <chrono>
#include <thread>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	auto start = chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();
	//this_thread::sleep_for(1s);

int number = 5;
	cout << number << endl;

auto end = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();
	chrono::duration<float> duration = end - start;

cout << duration.count() << "s";

cin.get();

}

Thank you for your attention and availability
Last edited on
this_thread::sleep_for(1s) means the current thread should wait at least one second before continue to execute the rest of the code.
Note that the s is a user defined literal (from the standard library) that denotes a second. See:

https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/user_literal
> Anyway, my task is computing the time of a calculation:
> I want the time from the start of a calculation to the end of this one. How can I do it?

Something along these lines:

#include <iostream>
#include <chrono>
#include <type_traits>
#include <ctime>
#include <utility>
#include <thread>

struct timer {

// to measure real time, use the high resolution clock if it is steady, the steady clock overwise
    using clock_type = std::conditional< std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::is_steady,