Introducing myself - A beginner, beginning.

Pages: 12
Greetings, I'm new to C++ also with a little history in cobol, and basic and C.

Some programs I have written just to learn things again
command line to add numbers from string
- Example: add 1 2 3 4
A alarm clock
A program to wait x minutes. - do this with little overhead
Verify a date is between 1900 and 2099
Calculate the time between 2 dates
A menu program
Read/write txt files
Search txt file for 2 strings vs just one
Get current time
Shuffle a deck of cards
A number guessing game

I'm a windows user now so some of the things you can do in unix easy I'm trying to learn how to do in windows. one such project I haven't gotten to yet is writing a cal windows version.

Anyway, I use this site a LOT, see ya around.
SamuelAdams
I will advise you start a new thread as things are getting a bit muddled on this thread already.
have you discovered the bunny challenge yet?

The What?

also dont rush onto an api theres a bit more to go i think

Sure. I get that. I want to get the basics down with console programs. I really am the noob of beginners with this.

I will advise you start a new thread as things are getting a bit muddled on this thread already.

Done. Just Commenting my code ready to post.

Just want to say THANKYOU everyone for the welcome.
Last edited on
yes the bunny challenge, i got fed up with failure so spent ages trying to get an API to do more fun things but the i realized that although i could copy the tutorials, even play around with stuff i actually wanted to understand what i was doing, this is still beyond me i cannot really completly grasp pointers and linked lists keys itorators maps are beyond my concentration for now

★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★
THE BUNNY CHALLENGE:

Requires:
variables, data types, and numerical operators
basic input/output
logic (if statements, switch statements)
loops (for, while, do-while)
arrays
pseudo random number generation
strings & string functions